Don’t know nothin’ and that’s why you want me

August 6, 2010

I was eating an an apple yesterday, half reading, half watching my not-quite-two-year-old daughter play. She wanted a bite, so I gave one, then two, then a bunch. Then I finished the apple, and set the core down on the table beside me. She looked at me blankly–so I informed her, in my most dad-to-daughter-like tone, that the apple was “all done.” So she grabbed the core and continued eating it.

In my mind, the apple was done. Gone. Finished. None left. But she didn’t know that; all she knew was that the apple was good and it was right in front of her and she wanted it. So she ate more. And do you know what? She was right, not me.

David Heinemeier Hansson (creater of Ruby on Rails and various other things-go read his wikipedia page) had this to say about newbies in a recent interview: “You have this sort of initial naïve approach to things that makes it impossible for you just to see what should be impossible.”

The VP of Operations at a client’s company recently tasked a small group of inexperienced people from different backgrounds with going out in the field and improving operations. They were concerned, because they felt like they didn’t know enough to make a difference. His reply: “Ignorance is your greatest asset.”

Ever tried proof-reading your own writing and missed the the mistake even though you read it 30 times?

Maybe it’s time you got some new perspectives on things. Try it out. You might like it.

Leave a Reply

